Leveling, floors, walls you name it

Repair help for the do-it-yourselfer.
For mobile home parts, click here.

Moderators: Greg, Mark, mhrAJ333, JD

Robert Patterson

A forum for mobile home repair? Who'd a thought it :) . Hello folks! I'm new to this forum and have alot of questions. First off I'm new to mobile home living. My family and I had a house up till just a few months ago. With the economy and all we decided to get rid of the house and move into the mobile home. I have a total of 15. 14 are rentals and we live in a 28 x 80. I sorta inherited them from my folks. Anyways we decided we would remodel. "Holy Mackerel" :shock: . We uncovered some bad stuff.
We pulled up all the carpet in living room and dining area. What a mess. Looked under the kitchen sink and dishwasher. The floor was all but gone. So I thought OK no big deal. Pulled out all the kitchen cabinets, needless to say they just fell apart. Started replacing flooring in living room and kitchen. Realized that the floor had a peak right in the middle where the 2 halves come together. That's when I knew we had some real problems. Ask my dad if he had ever had the house leveled. Nope, not since it was set up. 26 yrs ago. Called a couple different mobile home repair people and got quotes from $1000 to $1500 to re level. Ended up my dad knew someone. They came in and leveled the place for $300.
Here's the problem. The floors are still way off level. So bad I can't install cabinets. It would take about an inch and half of shimming. Not good. We have plans of putting laminate flooring and you can see the slope in the floor. It's the worst about 3 ft. from the kitchen walls. The is an attached covered porch on the back of the house where the kitchen is. That's what I believe has pulled the wall/floors down. HOW DO I FIX IT?? Can it be fixed to within reason. Can I jack up the porch? Its tied into the roof by the way. I can fix floors, walls ect. But this I'm not so sure of. Please someone. I need help here.