Compressor/nailer question

Repair help for the do-it-yourselfer.
For mobile home parts, click here.

Moderators: Greg, Mark, mhrAJ333, JD

stillworking

Even here in "cheap" southeastern Oklahoma, labor costs are escalating and I am seriously thinking about replacing my particle board floors myself. Although I call myself "stillworking" I am actually pretty much retired and only work on my mobile home rentals. I have some experience taking out particle board floors and since I live alone and can work at my own pace I think this job is doable. My questions concerns equipment.

Today at Home Depot I saw a Porter Cable compressor/nailer set on sale for $289. The pancake compressor is 90psi, 6 gallon, oil free, 2.65 CFM (or 2.6 SCFM - can't read my writing) and includes hoses and fittings. It has a Finish Nailer FN250B (16 gauge, 3/4" - 2-1/2" ), a Brad Nailer BN125A (18 gauge, 5/8" - 1-1/4"), and a Stapler NS100A Narrow Crown (18 gauge, 1/2" - 1"). Each includes 1000 fasteners.

I just used a hammer for the small flooring jobs I have done in the past, but for this much bigger project I think I should consider something to make the job easier. I'm open to any and all suggestions. If it matters - 140 pound female. Thanks very much for any suggestions.
Yanita

Hi,

Sorry I can not comment on the tools...one of the guys will come along and help you with that. Some of the big box stores are now selling power tools that are designed to be used by women.

When installing sub floor patches, or total replacement it is better to use screws. Our homes shift with the seasons and nails have a tendency to "back out" after awhile.

Have you purchased Mark's Manual for MH Repairs and Upgrades. This is a great item in your tool box! It can be found in the books/parts link above.

Have a great day!

~Yanita~
The difference between success and failure is who gives up first!
Harry

Hi

I agree with Yanita on the screws. I use construction adhesive plus the screws.